Port Washington Chamber of Commerce 2012 Award Winners

Some of Port Washington's most passionate and committed citizens were honored Wednesday at the annual awards dinner at Memories Ballroom.

The passion that Port Washington’s most dedicated citizens have for their community was displayed Wednesday at the Chamber of Commerce 2012 Annual Awards Dinner at Memories Ballroom.

“These are the people who are making our community great,” said former mayor Scott Huebner. He choked up briefly while thanking his wife and children for supporting him through three terms as mayor as he accepted the Citizen of the Year award.

Dan Michu, co-owner of Baltica Tea Room, also had to compose himself briefly as he accepted the City Beautification Award on behalf of Baltica. He spoke at length about the need for citizens and business owners to “pay it forward” to make the city stronger.

“Mr. Port Washington,” Leroy Bley, was given a Special Recognition Award for years of tireless service that have included stints on the Ozaukee County Board and Port Washington Plan Commission, military service, and volunteerism with the Port Washington Historical Society and the Visitors Center.

Others honorees were:

  • Robert Mittnacht, founder of the Freeport Music Series, received the Distinguished Service Award.
  • Derek Strohl, who spearheaded the Community Garden project, was given the Outstanding Achievement Award.
  • Joe Sanfilippo accepted the Business of the Year award on behalf of Sentry.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »